Nominees Announced For 15th Annual TransWorld SNOWboarding Riders’ Poll Awards

Date: 1/22/2014
Share |

Winners To Be Awarded In Denver, Colorado On Friday January 31, 2014 During SIA Weekend

Carlsbad, CA (January 22, 2014) -- Each season TransWorld SNOWboarding gathers the votes of over 100 pros to determine the best riders, video parts, and performances of the year. For our 15th Annual Riders’ Poll Awards, veterans like Danny Kass, Andreas Wiig, Eero Ettala, John Jackson, Chris Bradshaw, and Terje Haakonsen all voted alongside up-and-comers such as Jake Kyzuk, Stale Sandbech, and Sage Kotsenburg, creating snowboarding’s largest survey of pro rider opinion.

To see who’s named the best this year, join us on Friday, January 31 at the Ogden Theatre in Denver, Colorado for the biggest night in snowboarding. Doors up at 7:00 p.m. The show starts at 8:30 p.m. For those who can’t make it, catch videos of the winners at

This year’s nominees are….

Men's Rookie Of The Year
- Ayumu Hirano
- Blake Paul
- Justin Fronius

Woman's Rookie Of The Year
- Arielle Gold
- Christy Prior
- Danyale Patterson

Men's Rider Of The Year
- Gigi Rüf
- Louif Paradis
- Mark McMorris

Women's Rider Of The Year
- Desiree Melancon
- Jess Kimura
- Kelly Clark

Men's Video Part Of The Year
- Halldór Helgason, Never Not
- Louif Paradis, Déjà Vu
- Mikey Rencz, Burton Presents [Backcountry]

Women's Video Part Of The Year
- Desiree Melancon, Brain Dead, Heart Attack
- Hana Beaman, Real Women
- Jess Kimura, Real Women

Online Video Series Of The Year
- Adidas Welcome series
- Burton Presents [SNOWBOARDING]
- Cooking With Gas

Video Of The Year
- Déjà Vu
- Jake Blauvelt’s Naturally
- Nike, Never Not

Standout Performance Of The Year
- Gigi Rüf Ultra Natural winner, Never Not ender
- Louif Paradis, X Games double gold winner, Déjà Vu ender
- Mark McMorris, slopestyle domination, sixth place Ultra Natural

Men’s TWSNOW Readers' Choice
- Halldór Helgason
- Scott Stevens
- Torstein Horgmo

Women’s TWSNOW Readers' Choice
- Desiree Melancon
- Jamie Anderson
- Jess Kimura

Legend Award
- Bryan Iguchi

New for 2014, we’ve changed venues to the Ogden Theatre in Denver, Colorado. Industry guests RSVP now to save your spot at the biggest night in snowboarding happening Friday January 31, 2014. The Riders’ Poll Awards are sponsored by Red Bull, New Era, GoPro, Keystone, Krü 82 Vodka, Bird Dog Whiskey, Pabst Blue Ribbon, Zumiez, and Protect Our Winters.
For more on TransWorld SNOWboarding and the prestigious Riders’ Poll Awards, visit

For updates, get connected to our Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram feeds at @TWSNOW (#RIDERSPOLL15).
Industry guests, RSVP for tickets to Tickets can be picked up from the TransWorld SNOWboarding booth (#276) at the Blue Bird Social Zone at SIA.

About TransWorld SNOWboarding
TransWorld SNOWboarding is the world's number one snowboard media outlet with an audience of over 1.4-million. Celebrating 25 years since its inception in 1987, TransWorld SNOWboarding continues to successfully and creatively cover the snowboard culture with innovative photography, original videos, award-winning print and multi-layered digital magazines, snowboard instruction, consumer events and cutting edge awards shows. TransWorld SNOWboarding can be found online at and is based in Carlsbad, California. TransWorld is a division of Grind Media and Source Interlink.

About Grind Media:
Source Interlink Media's GrindMedia is the world's largest action/adventure/outdoor media company, with 29 leading media assets featuring brands such as, SURFER, SURFING, TransWorld SKATEboarding, Bike, POWDER, TransWorld Motocross, Snowboarder, Canoe & Kayak and more. GrindMedia reaches more than 40 million engaged consumers every month through its print, online, mobile, TV/video and events. Delivering significant reach across both action sports enthusiast and various in-market consumer audiences, GrindMedia also produces more than 40 leading events and webcasts such as Surfer Poll Awards, TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards, Powder Video Awards, Lowers Pro and EnduroCross. GrindMedia is also the exclusive action and adventure sports content provider for Yahoo! Sports. To learn more, visit .

<< back